Data4Good: Our Projects

In our skilled volunteering projects, we connect data scientist volunteers from our network network of over 1900 volunteers with nonprofit organisations. Through those projects, our volunteers have the opportunity to apply their existing skills and gain new knowledge. At the same time, they support nonprofit organisations with solving their data-related challenges.

Over 2-6 months and in teams from 2-7 data scientists, our volunteers have tackled diverse data challenges of nonprofits: from data collection, data visualization and exploratory data analysis to automation, reporting and advanced statistical analyses using machine learning and deep learning techniques.

Requirements and general timeline

CorrelAid is happy to support all individuals and non-profit organizations that work in line with our values. Nevertheless, we might sometimes decide not to take up certain projects, e.g. if they have no clear educational value for our volunteers or if there are ethical concerns. In such cases, our Ethics Board decides whether the project will be carried out or not.

Since the beginning of 2021, we have organized our projects in the Project Cycle framework. This means that projects almost* always start with each quarter, i.e. at the beginning of January, April, July or October. The duration of the projects may well be less or more than three months, though.

Since our internal processes in the run-up to the start of the project cycle - sending out the call for applications, collecting applications, selecting the teams and onboarding - take about four weeks, you should contact us with your idea at least 1.5 months before the start of the project cycle.

*of course there can be exceptions :)

Frie

Frie

Data4Good Projects & COO

You can always reach out to Frie if you have any questions about our projects or if have an idea for a cool project!

[ frie.p@correlaid.org ]

FAQ

How much do the projects cost?

CorrelAid is a non-profit organisation that enables Data4Good projects by connecting social organisations with data scientists - we do not make any profit with our projects. Our data scientists are skilled volunteers who volunteer their time and skills for free because they are convinced that the potential of data science should be accessible to society. Thanks to this commitment of our data scientists, you do not pay them for their work. Coordination work before, during and after the project is typically done by Frie, one of our three full-time employees. Frie’s position is funded by money acquired through grants or donations.

What’s the timeline of a project?

1. Project definition

1-3 weeks

Together with our project coordinators, you work on defining the challenge that you face. We then decide whether our volunteers can help you. If this is the case, we define the approximate scope and duration of the project and collect the content for the call for applications.

Your input: iterative exchange with project coordination team (in total ~1-3 hours)

2. Call for Applications and Team Selection

1-3 weeks

We send out the call for applications to our network and select a project team of 2-8 voluntary data analysts.

Your input: none

3. Onboarding and Kickoff

1-3 weeks

We onboard the team to all the tooling that we use for communication and collaboration. At the same time, our project coordiantors, the project lead and you plan the kickoff workshop where you and the team can meet, get to know each other and more clearly define goals, modes of collaboration and content of the project. For projects that are organized as part of a project cycle, this kickoff takes place either on the first or second weekend of the month starting the quarter (Friday evening & Saturday afternoon). For other projects, individual arrangements are made.

Your input: mandatory participation in kickoff event

4. Project work

1-6 months

The project team works on a solution for your data challenge while maintaining close and iterative exchange cycles with you. In this way, feedback cycles are kept short which in turn is important for the success of the project.

Your input: meet regularly with the project team (at least every 2 weeks), give feedback, answer questions of the project team in a responsive way

5. Handover

1 day - 2 weeks

In a workshop, the team hands over the results and outputs and explains to you how you can use and maintain them if applicable. If you need to host the output yourself (e.g. a dashboard), our volunteers work together with your IT experts to ensure that it can be successfully used in your organisation.

Your input: Participation in a handover workshop (~several hours), make sure to meet technical requirements for taking over outputs that need to be hosted (if needed), work on understanding the results and outputs, their maintenance and usage.

6. Follow-Up

1-3 days

Both the project team and you will be surveyed about your experience with the project. In addition, you support the project team with creating content for a project description which will be displayed on the CorrelAid website after the project has ended.

Your input: Fill out a feedback survey (~15 minutes), give input for the representation of your project on the CorrelAid website (~1-2 hours)

Data4Good Projekte

In unseren Skilled-Volunteering Projekten bringen wir ehrenamtliche Data Scientists aus unserem Netzwerk von über 1900 freiwilligen Data Scientists mit gemeinnützigen Organisationen zusammen. In den Projekten erhalten unsere Data Scientists die Gelegenheit, ihre Kenntnisse in der Praxis anzuwenden und neue Skills hinzuzugewinnen. Gleichzeitig unterstützen sie gemeinnützige Organisationen dabei, ihre datenbezogenen Herausforderungen zu lösen.

Über einen Zeitraum von 2-6 Monaten und in Teams von 2-7 Scientists haben unsere Freiwilligen in der Vergangenheit ganz verschiedene Datenherausforderungen von NPOs bewältigt: von der Datenerfassung, Datenvisualisierung und explorativen Datenanalyse bis hin zu Automatisierung, Reporting und fortgeschrittenen statistischen Analysen mithilfe von Machine Learning und Deep Learning Techniken.

Voraussetzungen und Ablauf

CorrelAid unterstützt gerne alle Menschen und gemeinnützigen Organisationen, die im Einklang mit unseren Werten stehen. Dennoch behalten wir uns vor, bestimmte Projekte nicht durchzuführen, z.B. wenn sie keinen erkenntlichen Bildungswert für unsere Ehrenamtlichen haben oder ethische Bedenken bestehen. In solchen Einzelfällen entscheidet unser Ethikrat, ob das Projekt durchgeführt wird.

Seit Anfang 2021 führen wir unsere Projekte im Rahmen des Projektzyklus durch. Das heißt, dass Projekte grundsätzlich* immer zum Quartal starten, also Anfang Januar, April, Juli oder Oktober. Die Laufzeit der Projekte kann jedoch durchaus weniger oder mehr als drei Monate betragen.

Da unsere internen Prozesse im Vorfeld des Projektzyklus - Ausschreibung, Bewerbungsphase, Teamauswahl und Onboarding - ca. vier Wochen in Anspruch nehmen, solltet ihr euch spätestens ca 1,5 Monate vor Anfang des Projektzyklus mit eurem Anliegen bei uns melden.

*Ausnahmen kann es natürlich immer geben! :)

Frie

Frie

Data4Good Projekte & COO

Wenn du Fragen zu unseren Projekten hast oder wenn du eine Idee für ein Projekt hast, kannst du jederzeit Frie kontaktieren.

[ frie.p@correlaid.org ]

FAQ

Was kostet mich das?

CorrelAid ist ein gemeinnütziger Verein, der Data4Good Projekte anstößt, indem er gemeinnützige Organisationen mit Datenanalyst:innen vernetzt. CorrelAid macht keinen Profit mit diesen Projekten. Unsere Datenanalyst:innen sind skilled volunteers, die ihre Zeit und Kenntnisse für den guten Zweck einsetzen, weil sie überzeugt davon sind, dass das Potenzial von Data Science auch für die Zivilgesellschaft genutzt werden sollte. Dank dieses Engagements unserer Freiwilligen müsst ihr als gemeinnützige Organisation sie nicht für ihre Arbeit bezahlen. Die Koordinationsarbeit vor, während und nach dem Projekt wird von unserer hauptamtlichen Frie gemacht. Diese Stelle finanziert CorrelAid durch Spenden und Fördergelder.

Wie ist der genaue Ablauf?

1. Projektdefinition

1-3 Wochen

Unsere Projektkoordinator:innen definieren zusammen mit euch das zu lösende Problem. Anschließend entscheiden wir, ob unsere ehrenamtlichen Data Scientists euch helfen können. Falls ja, klären unsere Projektkoordinator:innen zusammen mit euch ungefähre Dauer und Inhalt des Projekts ab und tragen die Inhalte für die Projektausschreibung zusammen.

Euer Beitrag: iterativer Austausch mit Projektkoordinator:innen (ca. 1-3 Stunden)

2. Ausschreibung und Teamauswahl

1-3 Wochen

Wir schreiben das Projekt an unser Netzwerk aus und stellen aus den Bewerber:innen ein Projektteam aus 2-8 ehrenamtlichen Datenanalyst:innen zusammen.

Euer Beitrag: keiner

3. Onboarding und Kickoff

1-3 Wochen

Das Projektteam wird intern zu allen Tools eingeladen und eingeführt, die wir zur Kommunikation und Zusammenarbeit verwenden. Parallel planen wir zusammen mit euch den Kickoff-Workshop, wo ihr und das Team euch kennenlernen könnt und zusammen näher Ziele, Arbeitsweise und Inhalt des Projekts definiert. Bei Projekten, die im Rahmen eines Projektzyklus stattfinden, findet der Workshop an einem Freitagabend und Samstagnachmittag online statt. Alternativ sind auch offline Formate denkbar, je nach Situation.

Euer Beitrag: Teilnahme am Kickoff (verpflichtend)

4. Projektarbeit

1-6 Monate

Das Projektteam arbeitet in engem und iterativem Austausch mit euch an einer Lösung für Ihr Datenproblem. Die kurzen Feedback-Zyklen sind wichtig für den Projekterfolg, daher ist es wichtig, dass ihr euch die Zeit nehmt für regelmäßigen Austausch.

Euer Beitrag: regelmäßiger telefonischer Austausch mit Projektteam (mind. alle 2 Wochen), Feedback geben, Fragen des Projektteams schnellstmöglich beantworten

5. Handover

1 Tag - 2 Wochen

Das Team übergibt euch in einem Abschlussworkshop die Ergebnisse und führt euch in die Nutzung und eventuelle Wartung des Endprodukts ein. Bei zu hostenden Dashboards arbeiten wir mit euren IT-Expert:innen zusammen, um das Endprodukt erfolgreich bei euch in Produktion zu bringen.

Euer Beitrag: Teilnahme an einem mehrstündigen Handover-Workshop, ggf. intern IT-Voraussetzungen zur Übernahme von zu hostenden Endprodukten schaffen, intensive Auseinandersetzung mit dem Endergebnis, seiner Wartung und Nutzung

6. Follow-Up

1-3 Tage

Sowohl das Projektteam als auch ihr werden nach ihrer Erfahrung mit dem Projekt befragt. Zusätzlich unterstützt ihr das Projektteam bei der Erarbeitung einer Projektbeschreibung, die nach dem Projekt auf der CorrelAid-Website das Projekt darstellen wird.

Euer Beitrag: Ausfüllen eines Fragebogens (ca. 15 Minuten), Inhalte für Projektbeschreibung bereitstellen und absprechen (ca. 1-2 Stunden)