CorrelAid TidyTuesday Challenge: Visualizing the electoral potential of migrant communities

CorrelAid TidyTuesday Challenge: Visualizing the electoral potential of migrant communities

When: 2021-08-17, 8:00 PM – 10:00 PM CET

Language: english

Registration: Here

CorrelAid presents the very first CorrelAid TidyTuesday Challenge. Read on to find out more about the background, the data and the prize!

Background

Around 6.3 million German voters in the 2017 federal election had a so-called migration background - that is, they or at least one parent was born abroad. Their overall share, about 10 percent of the electorate, will continue to rise in the coming years due to demographic trends and rising naturalization rates among the 8 million foreign citizens in Germany. However, due to their supposedly small size and lack of voice, they and their concerns are too often overlooked by policymakers.

In cooperation with Citizens for Europe, Arndt Leininger (CorrelAid e.V. and Chemnitz University of Technology) and Julius Lagodny (Cornell University) have therefore for the first time estimated how influential the voices of people with a migration background can be on this and subsequent federal elections. To do so, they used the microcensus to estimate the number of eligible voters with an immigrant background for each of the 299 federal electoral districts. It turns out that in many constituencies, eligible voters with a migration background can make the difference: their number in many cases exceeds the number of votes that lie between the first- and second-place direct candidates.

Data

Citizens for Europe, Arndt and Julius provide their dataset exclusively for #tidytuesday. For each constituency (N = 299), the dataset contains information on the number of eligible voters with a migration background, the number of residents with a migration background overall, the results of the 2017 Bundestag election, and socioeconomic and demographic structural data. The dataset, especially in combination with shapefiles provided by the Federal Election Commissioner, thus offers a wide range of possibilities for data visualizations with a visual “wow” as well as a political “aha” factor.

The challenge

The best visualizations will be included in a high-profile Citizens for Europe policy paper and will be rewarded with a prize of 50 euros. We intend to publish all other visualizations on the CorrelAid blog simultaneously with the publication of the project report. However, this particular format also implies that you should only share your visualizations internally within CorrelAid until the policy paper is published in early September.

Registration

Please register on Pretix. Once you’ve registered, you’ll find the Zoom link there.

CorrelAid TidyTuesday Challenge: Visualisiere Wählerpotenziale von migrantischen Communities

CorrelAid TidyTuesday Challenge: Visualisiere Wählerpotenziale von migrantischen Communities

Wann: 2021-08-17 , 8:00 PM – 10:00 PM CET

Sprache: english

Registrierung: Hier

CorrelAid startet die erste CorrelAid TidyTuesday Challenge. Lies weiter, um mehr über den Hintergrund, die Daten und den Preis zu erfahren!

Hintergrund

Rund 6,3 Millionen deutsche Wählerinnen und Wähler bei der Bundestagswahl 2017 hatten einen sogenannten Migrationshintergrund - das heißt, sie oder mindestens ein Elternteil wurden im Ausland geboren. Ihr Gesamtanteil, etwa 10 Prozent der Wählerschaft, wird aufgrund der demographischen Entwicklung und steigender Einbürgerungsquoten unter den 8 Millionen ausländischen Staatsbürger*innen in Deutschland in den kommenden Jahren weiter steigen. Aufgrund ihrer vermeintlich geringen Gruppengröße und teils fehlenden Mitspracherechte werden sie und ihre Anliegen jedoch von der Politik noch zu oft übersehen.

In Kooperation mit Citizens for Europe (https://citizensforeurope.org) haben Arndt Leininger (CorrelAid e.V. und Technische Universität Chemnitz) und Julius Lagodny (Cornell University) deshalb erstmals Schätzungen angestellt, wie einflussreich die Stimmen von Menschen mit Migrationshintergrund auf diese und folgende Bundestagswahlen sein können. Sie haben dazu auf Basis des Mikrozensus die Anzahl der Wahlberechtigten mit Migrationshintergrund für jeden der 299 Bundestagswahlkreise geschätzt. Es zeigt sich, dass Wahlberechtigte mit Migrationshintergrund in vielen Wahlkreisen, den Unterschied machen können: ihre Anzahl übersteigt in vielen Fällen die Zahl der Stimmen die zwischen der erst- und dem zweitplatzierten Direktkandidat*in liegen.

Daten

Ihren Datensatz stellen Citizens for Europe, Arndt und Julius exklusiv für #tidytuesday zur Verfügung. Der Datensatz enthält für jeden Wahlkreis (N = 299) Angaben zur Zahl der Wahlberechtigten mit Migrationshintergrund, zur Zahl der Einwohner*innen mit Migrationshintergrund insgesamt, zu den Ergebnissen der Bundestagswahl 2017 und sozioökonomische und demographische Strukturdaten. Der Datensatz bietet damit, insbesondere auch in Verbindung mit vom Bundeswahlleiter zur Verfügung gestellten Shapefiles, vielfältige Möglichkeiten für Datenvisualisierungen mit optischem Wow- und politischem Aha-Faktor.

Die Challenge

Die besten Visualisierungen sollen in ein öffentlichkeitswirksames Policy Paper von Citizens for Europe einfließen und werden in diesem Falle mit einer Aufwandsentschädigung von 50 Euro als Dank honoriert. Alle andere Visualisierungen wollen wir gleichzeitig mit Veröffentlichung des Projektberichts im Blog von CorrelAid veröffentlichen. Dieses besondere Format impliziert jedoch auch, dass ihr eure Visualisierungen bis zur Veröffentlichung des Policy Papers Anfang September nur CorrelAid-intern teilen sollt.

Registrierung

Bitte registriere dich auf Pretix. Sobald du registriert bist, findest du dort den Zoom Link.